7 Facts You Should Know When Faced with Misdemeanor Theft

Published: 31st July 2009
Views: N/A

If you are charged with a theft crime, you can face a variety to penalties. Every state and jurisdiction has its' own rules so please be aware of that. There a number of factors that play into how someone is punished when sentencing theft. It depends on if this is the first time someone has been convicted. Also, the value of the goods stolen, and the nature of the offense is taken into consideration also. There are other factors that come into play as well when sentencing theft.

When a person is convicted of a theft crime, it becomes a part of their permanent record whether it's a felony or a misdemeanor. This can affect future employment and have negative social consequences. On job applications, they usually ask if someone has been convicted of a felony. And sometimes they even ask if someone has been fired for stealing, petty theft, etc.

The potential for theft can be severe, that's why it is important to speak to a criminal defense attorney if you are charged with a theft crime.

When sentencing theft, a judge will have to determine whether the theft crime is a felony or a misdemeanor. The judge will look at a number of factors. If it's a misdemeanor he will look at whether or not it's a first offense. If it is, the judge will issue a minor penalty, fine, restitution, probation, or short jail term when sentencing theft.

When sentencing theft for a felony, a judge will use harsher penalties. A felony requires more than a year of jail time. If the value of the property taken is higher than a value in a statute, the crime may be treated as a felony.

Here are examples from Arizona when it comes to sentencing theft:

1. If the theft is less than $250, it is a Class 1 Misdemeanor. The thief can receive a $2,500 fine, or probation, or a maximum of 6 months in jail.
2. If the theft is between $250 and $1000, then it is considered a Class 6 felony. The thief can go to prison for 2 years, or be put on probation, or spend a year in jail, or the fine can reach as high as $150,000.
3. If the value of the stolen goods is $1,000-$2,000, it can give a criminal 2 and a half years in the slammer maximum, or probation, or a maximum fine can be up to $150,000.
4. If the stolen property is valued at $2000-$3000, prison time will be 3.75 years maximum, or probation, or 1 year in the county jail, or a maximum fine of $150,000.
5. If the stole property is valued between $3000 and $25,000, then the person could get a maximum of 8.75 years in prison, or 1 year in the county jail, or a maximum fine of $150,000.
6. If the value of the goods is over $25,000, then the criminal can get a maximum of 12.5 years, or put on probation, or sent to the county jail for 1 year, or get a maximum fine of $150,000.

These are a few examples when it comes to sentencing theft in Arizona. Check the laws in your state when it comes to sentencing theft.



Before you go anywhere now learn how atheft sentence can be used for an identity theft case. Click here for the best to find how theft sentencing relates to identity theft.

Report this article Ask About This Article


Loading...
More to Explore